21 Reviews
4.9 out of 5 stars.
5 stars
90%
4 stars
10%
3 stars
0%
2 stars
0%
1 star
0%
By JOEY on Thursday, September 15, 2016
Reviewed on
All guitars that come into my studio go thru this before anything happens. It tunes, it intonates, and you can also put custom logos on it. This thing does so much I dont even know what it does. even some of my friends that have "good ears" have started to come over to use this to intonate their guitars with. buy it with no regrets

Was this review helpul to you?
By john bricker on Monday, April 25, 2016
Reviewed on
I owned a Rocktron tuner that was unbearable , and now I own the Peterson Strobe and am very quick to tune both my 12 string and my six string! It is a wonderful tuner worth the price!

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Steven Gall on Saturday, April 2, 2016
Reviewed on
I play pedal steel guitar and I use a tempered tuning that is impossible to achieve with a stomp box. I'm able to store presets for both necks and all my slide and resonator guitars. Display is visible in bright sunlight for outdoor gigs. Best tuner ever.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Bob on Saturday, December 27, 2014
Reviewed on
This is by far the best guitar tuner I have ever owned or used. The build construction and design is awesome. I'm very pleased with it and I have NOT experienced any grounding loop problems at all and it's a very quiet guitar tuner. I don't even know it on. I do buy good guitar amps and not cheap guitar amps that can create noise and grounding loops problems due to poor design. I'm also glad that Peterson decided to use hot glue to stop wires from flopping around. This will insure that the wires will not break due to movement and will ensure many dependable years of use due to using hot glue. I design test programs for electronic devices, cables, etc. and I realize the importance of using hot glue to support and stop wires from flopping around so that wires do not break. That's a very smart move on Peterson's part.

3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Bob on Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Reviewed on
I was a bit hesitant about spending all this money on a guitar tuner but after using it for a few months, I would still buy it even if it were MORE expensive. It's that good. So easy to use and its big display makes it so easy to read. It's also very accurate and very well built. I really like it a lot. As for foolishly griping about Peterson using Hot Glue in this unit, as one reviewer did, that's a brilliant move on Peterson's part because it keeps the wires in place and makes it very durable as well as very repairable if need be. Hot Glue is not that hard to take off but it's strong and it keeps wires from flopping around. When wires flop around too much then that's when they tend to break. Again, hot glue ADDS to the durability of this unit. Nice design on Peterson's part.

Was this review helpul to you?
By Donal Holland on Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Reviewed on
This tuner is over the top good. Very easy to setup, very easy to see, even from a distance. The tuning accuracy was my main focus when I started comparing the Peterson VS-R to all others I could find on the open market. It has more features and options than any other tuner.
If you want to add a nice piece to your rack, seriously look no further.

Was this review helpul to you?
By Brian Harmata on Saturday, April 26, 2014
Reviewed on
I've used several other tuners over the years, including a TC Polytune pedal (Actually a pretty good tuner) A Boss TU-2 (which broke after 2 years of light use and never properly picked up my low B string on my 7 string), and a Korg DTR-2000 rack tuner. The Peterson unit blows them all away as far as accuracy is concerned.

I can get that pesky G string perfect with very little effort. It picks up my low B with pretty good accuracy and not too much "noise" which is a first in a tuner that I've used. It's plain to see that you get what you pay for. I've never used a strobe tuner before, so it took me a little getting used-to.

One thing I found helpful, was either role your tone off a bit, or use your neck pickup, and also roll your volume down a bit. It's so sensitive, if you give it a good hard pick with guitar volume on 10, the display is going to go nuts and you aren't going to be able to interpret it very easily.

It tracks very quickly, and it's insanely accurate. Now that I've u ...

Read More
Was this review helpul to you?
By ZigZag on Monday, November 25, 2013

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
BUY THIS PRODUCT! I FELL IN LOVE WITH MINE! THIS IS VERY NICE! YOU WILL ALLWAYS BE IN TUNE AND IT LOOKS AND FUNCTIONS GREAT!

Was this review helpul to you?
By Customer on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Reviewed on
Easy to read, does what it needs to do. May be a little pricy since other tuners will get your instrument tuned as well. I like the fact that I'm not carrying anything separate for tuning its all in the rack where its hooked up and ready to go. The mute button really works for me since I'm having to pull the jack off the bass on a live PA

Was this review helpul to you?
By Joshua Savage on Wednesday, May 1, 2013
Reviewed on
If you need a rack tuner your first mistake would not be buying this. Yes the price is a huge factor to look at here and nobody wants to spend this kind of money on a tuner, but i assure you it will be the best and the last one you will need.

Was this review helpul to you?
Need Help?