59 Reviews
3.4 out of 5 stars.
5 stars
42%
4 stars
15%
3 stars
10%
2 stars
5%
1 star
27%
By Istvan Gonczi on Monday, October 31, 2022
Edited on Monday, October 31, 2022

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Plays 6-String Acoustic Guitar, 4 String Bass, 6-String Electric Guitar, 5 String Bass
Before you spend your money on the windows desktop version of Strobosoft, be aware that this version does not have anything extra compared to the ipad version, so if you already own that, no point in buying this.
For the money, I expected the product to be on par with the iPad version, which I already own. A bit of a disappointment.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Robert Rice on Sunday, October 16, 2022

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
wonderful product. very flexible and simple user interface. another winner from Petersontuners.com

Was this review helpul to you?
Anonymous on Thursday, August 18, 2022

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
I bought this product for the taptuning feature on it, and that seems to work properly.
But from time to time the app crashes unexpectedly ( I work with OS), and also the display could have been bigger, some 'knobs' on it are pretty small. But the 'analog' feel of is is nice, and once I found out how it works (The manual af Siminoff really helps) it really helps me with my instrument building !

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Dan Mclaughlin on Monday, June 20, 2022

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Plays Mandolin
I am using the strobosoft 2.0 to tap tune a mandolin I am building. After a little trouble with getting the converter (anolog to digital) for my Mac, I am on my way. The software is simple to work with is delivering expected results. Now, If I can only get the neighbor to stop running his skidloader in the backyard I can make some progress on the mandolin. The backup beeping is driving me crazy.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Tj Usiyan on Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Edited on Wednesday, May 4, 2022

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
The core functionality of this software is excellently done. It is a great tuner, in the end.

That said, The UI of the standalone app is a little frustrating to me. I have a Chapman Stick, so I have a stereo input, ideally. I am fairly certain that I cannot select two channels of audio at once, however. Not a huge issue, since switching is possible, but it adds friction. I also wish that the metaphor of hardware was abandoned, at least a little. The layout of controls seems cramped especially since the window can't be resized.

I'm using this on an M1 Mac.

4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Sanford Erickson on Sunday, March 20, 2022

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Plays 6-String Electric Guitar, 6-String Acoustic Guitar, 4 String Bass
It's been too long since I could run strobosoft on my Mac. Now with the 64-bit version I can finally set up my guitars properly.

I forgot how great this product is. Thanks!

5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Ben Robinson on Sunday, February 27, 2022
Edited on Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Developer updates to the product are sluggish, but I note that there is a new MacOS version that solves the problems many of us were experiencing.

For many software tuning use cases, Strobosoft is now superseded by tuners freely available as mobile phone apps, or included with modelling software. The mobile version of Strobosoft is a better proposition and I use this all the time, being as the full software version took so long to be updated by the developer.

Peterson's hardware tuners are world class but the developer has a slow update cadence for Strobosoft, which is out of touch with what people want. On top of this, the market for a software tuner has radically changed, albeit vanishing, as many people get sufficient utility from mobile apps etc.

4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Ermanno Chiavi on Wednesday, February 16, 2022

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Plays 6-String Electric Guitar, 6-String Acoustic Guitar

By Randy Ritsema on Saturday, December 25, 2021

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Plays Mandolin
Awesome tool. Thanks!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Robert Laferrière on Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Reviewed on
Peterson Website
I loved this software on my old mac... I miss it terribly on my new Mac with apple silicone... I would give it a 5, but it will be a 3 until I can use it again on my new mac.

I'm using the iStrobosoft on my ipad in the meantime. The thing is, the Mac M1 can actually run ipad apps natively if the developer checks the box to allow them to be run on a mac. That would be HUGE for my tech work and live streaming while I wait for updated Strobosoft software to be released for 64-bit computers. But for anyone waiting for the new software to drop, if you have an iPad, try the iStrobosoft app. It's great!

If there is a 64-bit apple silicone beta I can be a part of, I'd love to join!

3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
Need Help?