15 Reviews
4.8 out of 5 stars.
5 stars
87%
4 stars
7%
3 stars
7%
2 stars
0%
1 star
0%
By Phillip Keller on Sunday, January 12, 2020

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
I've only had this for a couple of weeks and there is a learning curve ... I am still adjusting to the strobe's reaction time ...

Was this review helpul to you?
By Mitchel Weissman on Saturday, November 23, 2019

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Plays 6-String Electric Guitar, 4 String Bass, Mandolin, 6-String Acoustic Guitar, 10 String Pedal Steel Guitar, 5 String Bass, Dobro® / Resonator Guitar, Ukulele, 5-String Banjo, Upright Bass, Tenor Ukulele, 6 String Lap Steel, 8 String Lap Steel, 6 String Bass, Classical Violin, Double Bass, Classical Cello, Appalachian Fiddle, Baritone Ukulele, 4-String Tenor Banjo, Octave Mandolin, String Bass, Buzz Feiten Electric Guitar, Mandola, Celtic Violin, Classical Viola, Cajun Fiddle, 8 String Pedal Steel Guitar, Buzz Feiten Bass, Mandocello, Buzz Feiten Acoustic Guitar, Buzz Feiten 12-String Guitar, 10 String Lap Steel, 7 String Bass, Scandinavian Violin, Mandobass, Baroque Cello
The feature that most impressed me is the ability to adjust the sensitivity when performing intonation on a guitar. I am very fussy when it comes to intonation and this feature secures me with the ability to deliver a service to my customers that others in my area can not.

Was this review helpul to you?
By ALBERTO NAVARRO GARZA on Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Plays 6-String Electric Guitar, 6-String Acoustic Guitar, 4 String Bass
This product is excelent, though user needs much more information on operation instructions

Was this review helpul to you?
By Joe on Saturday, January 19, 2019

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Plays Dobro® / Resonator Guitar, 6-String Acoustic Guitar, 6-String Electric Guitar
AWESOME

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By John Earle on Monday, November 26, 2018

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Plays 6-String Electric Guitar, 6-String Acoustic Guitar
Very nice, and very accurate, but I would like to see the display indicate exactly how many cents over or under the exact pitch any note is. This would be very convenient, at least in setting up guitars, which is one of the tasks for which I use this. The value can be determined, but it is a little bit of a hassle. Otherwise, I am 100% satisfied with the purchase. Does everything I expected and then some. A fine instrument.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Colin Thomson on Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Edited on Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Peterson Website
Plays 6-String Electric Guitar, 6-String Acoustic Guitar, Dobro® / Resonator Guitar, 5-String Banjo, 10 String Pedal Steel Guitar
I have always been interested in setting up my guitar and piano accurately as well as having the means to service reed instruments. Although I'm not on a professional level, I've found that very high and very low notes tend to confuse other types of tuning devices, this was achievable with the Peterson 490 Strobe Tuner.

3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By buffy sci fi on Monday, August 21, 2017

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
Best on the market and excellent support from the manufacturer

4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By Amazon Customer on Thursday, July 14, 2016

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
It was reasonably priced, works great.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By geoffrey wooff on Friday, March 29, 2013

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
As a musical instrument maker I have several tuning aids which have served me well over the years but I was looking for a device that would recognise more concisely certain notes that other tuners fail to be happy about. Also I wanted a tuner that would measure harmonic positions within a complex sound. This is at times a tall order but I think the Auto Strobe 490 is achieving this. My first tuner was a Yamaha PT4 which cost close to $1000 back in 1976.. it was very good but the Peterson Auto strobe is a great improvement... long may it last. I am a woodwind instrument maker but I also have other types of instruments to tune , Accordion type reeds and some stringed instruments. One feature of this type of tuner is the way it shows the decay of a note. The extreme accuracy may appear to be overkill for musical instrument work but there are times when measuring a pitch to one thousandth of a semitone is usefull.

6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
By BERNARD BURG on Friday, March 8, 2013

Verified Purchase

Reviewed on
très bon produit satisfaction totale. Certainement le meilleur du marché. Pour l'heure j'en ai testé plusieurs, il reste le meilleur

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review helpul to you?
Need Help?